Former FBI Director Robert Mueller Appointed Special Counsel To Oversee Trump-Russia Investigation

Posted on

From Daily Caller:

Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein has appointed former FBI Director Robert Mueller to oversee the FBI investigation into any alleged collusion between the Trump 2016 campaign and the Russian government.

“In my capacity as acting Attorney General, I determined that it is in the public interest for me to exercise my authority and appoint a Special Counsel to assume responsibility for this matter,” said Deputy Attorney General Rosenstein in a press release Wednesday.  “My decision is not a finding that crimes have been committed or that any prosecution is warranted.  I have made no such determination.  What I have determined is that based upon the unique circumstances, the public interest requires me to place this investigation under the authority of a person who exercises a degree of independence from the normal chain of command.”

 

Read more: Former FBI Director Appointed Special Counsel To Oversee Trump-Russia Investigation

Leave a Reply

