TRUMP: ‘I DON’T NEED INTELLIGENCE BRIEFINGS EVERYDAY’ BUT ON-CALL AT ‘ONE-MINUTE’S’ NOTICE IF NEEDED

Posted on

Trump will just get one presidential intelligence briefing a week but says he’s on-call at “one-minute’s” notice if something changes that he must deal with.

“I get it when I need it,” Trump told “Fox News Sunday,”  “I’m, like, a smart person. I don’t have to be told the same thing in the same words every single day for the next eight years – could be eight years. … I don’t need that.”

Trump told Fox News he wants to fix EPA.

“EPA, you can’t get things approved. I mean, people are waiting in line for 15 years before they get rejected, okay? That’s why people don’t want to invest in this country,” he said. “… So we’re going to clean it up. We’re going to speed it up and, by the way, if somebody is not doing the right thing we’re not going to approve.”

Trump, who went to a military school in high school,  went on to defend his selection of several retired generals for key positions, including secretary of Defense and Homeland Security.

“I like generals. I think generals are terrific, you know? They go through schools and they sort of end up at the top of the pyramid. And it’s like a test. They passed the test of life. … And I like the three that I have very, very much,” he said. 

He also said he’s “getting very, very close” to picking a secretary of State nominee, amid indications he’s leaning toward ExxonMobil boss Rex Tillerson.

“He’s much more than a business executive. … He’s a world-class player,” Trump said of Tillerson, without confirming the choice. 

Trump also said he hopes federal law will allow his daughter Ivanka and son-in-law Jared Kushner to aid in some of his executive branch duties.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

